All newsEvents

SKA are the KHL Gagarin Cup champions!

Gagarin Cup
HC SKA press-service

SKA Hockey Club have become the 2014/2015 KHL Gagarin Cup champions! The final step was taken in Kazan, however it was a long and hard journey.

Our team finished the KHL regular season in second place of the Western Conference, with only HC CSKA Moscow ahead in first.

The first round opponents with HC Torpedo Nizhny Novgorod, a dangerous side coached by Latvian Peteris Skudra. It turned out to be a seriously hard fought series, as it was 1:1 after the first matches. That's where our team came to life though, and took the next three games to win the series 4:1.

Up next - HC Dynamo Moscow, our deadliest rivals, and a team that has defeated SKA on two previous occasions in the playoffs. It was a true war right from the word go, and after one win each in Saint Petersburg our team roared to 2:0 and 6:1 victories in Moscow. The series was then taken at home, as Yevgeni Dadonov netted the winner in a 3:2 overtime triumph.

The conference finals saw SKA take on regular season HC CSKA Moscow, and just what a series it was. Our players simply couldn't get into the series at all, and found themselves in a 0:3 hole. No one gave up though, and it went all the way to a seventh game where SKA took it 3:2 in the Russian capital. Indeed with turning the series around from 0:3, SKA became only the fifth team in hockey history to come back to win 4:3!

SKA are the KHL Gagarin Cup champions!

If that was tough however, the final promised to be even harder. HC Ak Bars, two time Gagarin Cup champions, laid in wait, and they had a lot of time to prepare for our team. SKA were on a roll though after defeating CSKA, and won the first two matches 4:2 and 1:0. Ak Bars did get back into things in Saint Petersburg taking the third game 2:1, however SKA took the series initiative winning 3:2 in the next. Our team weren't willing to mess around with with the first championship point made it count - 6:1 in Kazan, and for the first time ever SKA are the KHL Gagarin Cup champions!

The Gagarin Cup is ours!

All news